Nintendo Switch™ players: Instability issues prevented us from releasing the mid-chapter update and The Archives. Good news! We are working towards launching the update sometime next week.
We have updated our Forum Rules. Please take a moment to read through them: https://forum.deadbydaylight.com/en/discussion/87004/

Why Things Get Pushed Back

CentrumCentrum Member Posts: 160

Ok, I'll preface this by saying I have a bit of experience with Python 3 (I'm studying to get a coding job & improve my life)

So let's take the event being pushed back:

It could be that they found a game-breaking bug when they compiled the final code yesterday. Something that crashes the game. Literally unplayable.

Now, a game like DBD could have THOUSANDS of lines of code. For reference, War & Peace, the famous book? Only has 1,225 pages. The devs could be looking through enough lines of code to fill 2 or 3 War & Peace books. Or more.

When it comes to crashing issues, sadly, most compilers are pretty general on the 'why' because the developers of the compiler can only know what anyone will use the code for in a very broad sense. Dead By Daylight is in C#/C++, from what I could find. So you have general crashing messages that may give a HINT of where the problem is. No one who made the compiler or created C# or C++ could have known to write a crash message that tells BHVR 'Oh. There's a crash because the game is trying to place Dwight out of bounds and overwriting crucial gameplay loops with his location data'

That vague error cuts down the code to search from several thousand to maybe a thousand..ish.

So you still have to search through hundreds, of not 1000+, lines of code to find WHAT is breaking and WHY. And believe me; sometimes why a line of code, or an entire process, breaks is very obscure. It's not always as easy as 'Someone typoed' or 'someone decided to make a list when a dictionary was needed'.