Home Discussions General Discussions

PS4 Pro - FPS - Resolution Change

Just want to share my recent test on PS4 Pro.
Changed the resolution from automatic to 720p.
I noticed a improved performance.
TV: Game mode ON, not 4k model.
PS4 Pro: Video output 720p, from automatic.
Playing with new skins and not dropping FPS.
Will update if any problem arrises.

Comments

  • DreamnomadDreamnomad Member Posts: 2,821

    Nice. Thanks for the info. I might give it a try.

  • rafajsprafajsp Member Posts: 246
    Update:
    5th match in a row with new skin full.
    Graphics are worst.
    Still no FPS brick.
    Will not restart the game untill FPS break totally.
  • DreamnomadDreamnomad Member Posts: 2,821

    I just tried this and it really improved my consoles performance. Thanks for the tip.

  • Zarr0chZarr0ch Member Posts: 320

    My FPS etc isnt to bad on my TV ( but I have a 4k tv with the PRO, so perhaps this makes a difference?)

  • DwightsLifeMattersDwightsLifeMatters Member Posts: 1,662
    edited November 2018
    not_Queen said:

    @rafajsp Thanks for the tip! I will make sure this information is run by the team! Hopefully it will help more players getting a better FPS or even give us an angle to approach the optimization changes.

    @not_Queen while your at it, I know for sure what is consuming the most fps. It's the fog. How I know that? Cuz some months ago it was possible to disable the fog by adding some lines in engine.ini (one of the config files) and my fps went flying. Seriously, I had nearly constant 50 fps. Now its not possible anymore and I'm only just getting 34 fps at best, sometimes I drop to 28 fps. 
    Please tell them to remove the fog since its really annoying for the eyes anyway and we all would benefit with a lot of FPS 
    Post edited by DwightsLifeMatters on
  • DwightsLifeMattersDwightsLifeMatters Member Posts: 1,662
    Dudddd said:
    Dude no just turn off boost mode 720p is unplayable i rather have crappy fps than play on 720p
    Don't feel offended but someone who prefere graphics over perfomance is just a casual gamer and without clue. You act like 720p is is something like 160p. Calm down with your future kid, it's not the year 2500
  • DwightsLifeMattersDwightsLifeMatters Member Posts: 1,662
    edited November 2018
    Dudddd said:
    Dudddd said:
    Dude no just turn off boost mode 720p is unplayable i rather have crappy fps than play on 720p
    Don't feel offended but someone who prefere graphics over perfomance is just a casual gamer and without clue. You act like 720p is is something like 160p. Calm down with your future kid, it's not the year 2500
    Im not debating gaming with someone who has a brain aneurysm dwight ;) ... Now get back in your locker until a killer finds you so you can serve your true purpose being on a hook. 
    Just noticed your name. It's a pleasure to cut of the conversation with you now asap before I will lose brain cells, bye.
  • aproposapropos Member Posts: 245

    I could be wrong, but I thought that consoles had their resolution locked in by the game's developers, meaning that if the user settings are different from that resolution, the console renders at the preset resolution internally, but is then output at whatever signal is set for your display. Which would mean that there's no change in performance, but instead a change in signal. Unless, there's a setting within the game that allows you to adjust the resolution yourself.

    It's similar for framerate, too. The PS4 pro is a good example of this; it's capable of running games at 60fps if the game has been developed to run at that framerate, otherwise it runs at 30fps, like the regular PS4. I don't know if dbd is on the 60fps list, though.

    There are other ways to boost performance, too. You can install an SSD or SSHD; rebuild the database from the safe mode menu (takes a long time to complete); disable film mode, which locks some TVs in at 24fps, the framerate for most movies - game mode disables this, which you mentioned setting.

    I'd guess it has more to do with the game itself, or networking issues, because... Peer-to-peer networks.

  • DreamnomadDreamnomad Member Posts: 2,821

    @apropos said:
    I could be wrong, but I thought that consoles had their resolution locked in by the game's developers, meaning that if the user settings are different from that resolution, the console renders at the preset resolution internally, but is then output at whatever signal is set for your display. Which would mean that there's no change in performance, but instead a change in signal. Unless, there's a setting within the game that allows you to adjust the resolution yourself.

    I don't know about any of that. All I do know is that when I set the resolution to 720p, my in game performance was substantially better. I did get the occasional hang up. But it was the difference between maybe once or twice a game vs twenty times a game. I passed this tip along to some players that I regularly play with and they noticed a large improvement too. The graphics do take a hit, but it's nothing I can't live with for a performance improvement.

  • TizzleTizzle Member Posts: 344

    There is a significant difference between 4k and 1080 also.

  • aproposapropos Member Posts: 245

    @Dreamnomad said:

    @apropos said:
    I could be wrong, but I thought that consoles had their resolution locked in by the game's developers, meaning that if the user settings are different from that resolution, the console renders at the preset resolution internally, but is then output at whatever signal is set for your display. Which would mean that there's no change in performance, but instead a change in signal. Unless, there's a setting within the game that allows you to adjust the resolution yourself.

    I don't know about any of that. All I do know is that when I set the resolution to 720p, my in game performance was substantially better. I did get the occasional hang up. But it was the difference between maybe once or twice a game vs twenty times a game. I passed this tip along to some players that I regularly play with and they noticed a large improvement too. The graphics do take a hit, but it's nothing I can't live with for a performance improvement.

    I mean, if that's working... I need to try this, lol. I usually reset my PS4 and the lag stops, but switching to 720p might be less of a hassle than having to reset the whole system.

    I read an article last night that explained how this could work, it said that sometimes a game is only rendered up to 1600x900 and then upscaled to 1080p, which means that a 720p signal would be more manageable for a guaranteed 30fps. I was under the impression that hitting 30fps at 1080p was easy peasy nowadays, but maybe not.

  • rafajsprafajsp Member Posts: 246
    edited November 2018

    @apropos said:
    I could be wrong, but I thought that consoles had their resolution locked in by the game's developers, meaning that if the user settings are different from that resolution, the console renders at the preset resolution internally, but is then output at whatever signal is set for your display. Which would mean that there's no change in performance, but instead a change in signal. Unless, there's a setting within the game that allows you to adjust the resolution yourself.

    It's similar for framerate, too. The PS4 pro is a good example of this; it's capable of running games at 60fps if the game has been developed to run at that framerate, otherwise it runs at 30fps, like the regular PS4. I don't know if dbd is on the 60fps list, though.

    There are other ways to boost performance, too. You can install an SSD or SSHD; rebuild the database from the safe mode menu (takes a long time to complete); disable film mode, which locks some TVs in at 24fps, the framerate for most movies - game mode disables this, which you mentioned setting.

    I'd guess it has more to do with the game itself, or networking issues, because... Peer-to-peer networks.

    I understand you.
    DBD doesn't run on 30 FPS.
    If it was locked and all the time 30 fps, ok ... but it does not. Sometimes it fall to 15 ...
    Our aim is to keep it constant and playable near 30 a least.

  • aproposapropos Member Posts: 245
    edited November 2018

    @rafajsp said:

    @apropos said:
    I could be wrong, but I thought that consoles had their resolution locked in by the game's developers, meaning that if the user settings are different from that resolution, the console renders at the preset resolution internally, but is then output at whatever signal is set for your display. Which would mean that there's no change in performance, but instead a change in signal. Unless, there's a setting within the game that allows you to adjust the resolution yourself.

    It's similar for framerate, too. The PS4 pro is a good example of this; it's capable of running games at 60fps if the game has been developed to run at that framerate, otherwise it runs at 30fps, like the regular PS4. I don't know if dbd is on the 60fps list, though.

    There are other ways to boost performance, too. You can install an SSD or SSHD; rebuild the database from the safe mode menu (takes a long time to complete); disable film mode, which locks some TVs in at 24fps, the framerate for most movies - game mode disables this, which you mentioned setting.

    I'd guess it has more to do with the game itself, or networking issues, because... Peer-to-peer networks.

    I understand you.
    DBD doesn't run on 30 FPS.
    If it was locked and all the time 30 fps, ok ... but it does not. Sometimes it fall to 15 ...
    Our aim is to keep it constant and playable near 30 a least.

    I meant to come back to this thread, because I tried it, and my game was running better at 720p, too. It's a good find.

  • RaccoonRaccoon Member Posts: 3,659
    Is there a way to have it switch to 720p automatically upon startup, or does this need to be done in the system settings before each play?
  • aproposapropos Member Posts: 245

    @Raccoon said:
    Is there a way to have it switch to 720p automatically upon startup, or does this need to be done in the system settings before each play?

    I wish :/ I've been able to switch to 720p from 1080p while a game is running, but it won't let me switch from 720p to 1080p unless I quit whichever game I'm playing, and restart it. I've had it on the automatic setting, and it still defaults to 1080p for dbd.

  • RaccoonRaccoon Member Posts: 3,659
    Thanks so much for the swift reply :3
  • rafajsprafajsp Member Posts: 246
    edited November 2018

    @apropos said:

    @Raccoon said:
    Is there a way to have it switch to 720p automatically upon startup, or does this need to be done in the system settings before each play?

    I wish :/ I've been able to switch to 720p from 1080p while a game is running, but it won't let me switch from 720p to 1080p unless I quit whichever game I'm playing, and restart it. I've had it on the automatic setting, and it still defaults to 1080p for dbd.

    I can switch from both while game is running.
    I don't know if it's a ps4 pro only feature btw.
    I haven't been active lastly to test more, sorry. Other games seems to care/adjust/optmize more about console.

  • DreamnomadDreamnomad Member Posts: 2,821

    @rafajsp said:
    I haven't been active lastly to test more, sorry. Other games seems to care/adjust/optmize more about console.

    I don't think this is a fair statement. They are actively working on optimizing the game for consoles and have been doing so for months.

  • MasterMaster Member Posts: 10,205

    @rafajsp said:
    Just want to share my recent test on PS4 Pro.
    Changed the resolution from automatic to 720p.
    I noticed a improved performance.
    TV: Game mode ON, not 4k model.
    PS4 Pro: Video output 720p, from automatic.
    Playing with new skins and not dropping FPS.
    Will update if any problem arrises.

    Can you actually play DBD on 4k? I am curious how much fps that would give you :smile:

  • rafajsprafajsp Member Posts: 246

    @Dreamnomad said:

    @rafajsp said:
    I haven't been active lastly to test more, sorry. Other games seems to care/adjust/optmize more about console.

    I don't think this is a fair statement. They are actively working on optimizing the game for consoles and have been doing so for months.

    Not complaining, just explaining.
    Every patch is worse on consoles ask everyone. Since clown and pallet 2.0 it's a fps break fiesta.
    Back to the topic. I will test as soon I download the game again.
    Good luck.

  • rafajsprafajsp Member Posts: 246

    @Master said:

    @rafajsp said:
    Just want to share my recent test on PS4 Pro.
    Changed the resolution from automatic to 720p.
    I noticed a improved performance.
    TV: Game mode ON, not 4k model.
    PS4 Pro: Video output 720p, from automatic.
    Playing with new skins and not dropping FPS.
    Will update if any problem arrises.

    Can you actually play DBD on 4k? I am curious how much fps that would give you :smile:

    No, I don't have a 4k TV and not playing dbd anymore.

  • aproposapropos Member Posts: 245

    @rafajsp said:

    @apropos said:

    @Raccoon said:
    Is there a way to have it switch to 720p automatically upon startup, or does this need to be done in the system settings before each play?

    I wish :/ I've been able to switch to 720p from 1080p while a game is running, but it won't let me switch from 720p to 1080p unless I quit whichever game I'm playing, and restart it. I've had it on the automatic setting, and it still defaults to 1080p for dbd.

    I can switch from both while game is running.
    I don't know if it's a ps4 pro only feature btw.
    I haven't been active lastly to test more, sorry. Other games seems to care/adjust/optmize more about console.

    Sucks that you're not playing dbd anymore, but I'm not surprised - it feels like it's being half assed at times.

    Anyways, I don't know if this is relevant to you at this point, but I stumbled on another possible solution, rebuilding the database. I found an article online that suggested this after I encountered fps issues with the 720p res, and there was no way in hell I was gonna play at 480p. This may have fixed some separate issue on my end, so maybe it won't work for everyone, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

    Rebuilding the database is pretty simple too:

    • Power off PS4
    • With PS4 off, hold power button until a second beep is heard.
    • Select rebuild database.

    The system warns this could take hours, but when I did it it only took 5-10 minutes. Hope this helps.

  • rafajsprafajsp Member Posts: 246

    @apropos said:

    @rafajsp said:

    @apropos said:

    @Raccoon said:
    Is there a way to have it switch to 720p automatically upon startup, or does this need to be done in the system settings before each play?

    I wish :/ I've been able to switch to 720p from 1080p while a game is running, but it won't let me switch from 720p to 1080p unless I quit whichever game I'm playing, and restart it. I've had it on the automatic setting, and it still defaults to 1080p for dbd.

    I can switch from both while game is running.
    I don't know if it's a ps4 pro only feature btw.
    I haven't been active lastly to test more, sorry. Other games seems to care/adjust/optmize more about console.

    Sucks that you're not playing dbd anymore, but I'm not surprised - it feels like it's being half assed at times.

    Anyways, I don't know if this is relevant to you at this point, but I stumbled on another possible solution, rebuilding the database. I found an article online that suggested this after I encountered fps issues with the 720p res, and there was no way in hell I was gonna play at 480p. This may have fixed some separate issue on my end, so maybe it won't work for everyone, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

    Rebuilding the database is pretty simple too:

    • Power off PS4
    • With PS4 off, hold power button until a second beep is heard.
    • Select rebuild database.

    The system warns this could take hours, but when I did it it only took 5-10 minutes. Hope this helps.

    That's great @apropos ! I'm happy it worked for you.
    I did many databases rebuild. If i'm not wrong, Sony recommends rebuild the database regularly. For me, i always do when i Uninstall a game.
    Another procedure is cleaning the PS4, but that requires more work but it worth.

  • rafajsprafajsp Member Posts: 246
    edited December 2018

    @Justgiveup said:

    @apropos said:
    I could be wrong, but I thought that consoles had their resolution locked in by the game's developers, meaning that if the user settings are different from that resolution, the console renders at the preset resolution internally, but is then output at whatever signal is set for your display. Which would mean that there's no change in performance, but instead a change in signal. Unless, there's a setting within the game that allows you to adjust the resolution yourself.

    It's similar for framerate, too. The PS4 pro is a good example of this; it's capable of running games at 60fps if the game has been developed to run at that framerate, otherwise it runs at 30fps, like the regular PS4. I don't know if dbd is on the 60fps list, though.

    There are other ways to boost performance, too. You can install an SSD or SSHD; rebuild the database from the safe mode menu (takes a long time to complete); disable film mode, which locks some TVs in at 24fps, the framerate for most movies - game mode disables this, which you mentioned setting.

    I'd guess it has more to do with the game itself, or networking issues, because... Peer-to-peer networks.

    SSD and SSHD provide very little performance and in the end are not worth the money. was already tested and tried by DF.

    In this case i think SSD won't help.
    I understand you can argue read/write HD problems lead into processor bottleneck, but it's not the problem with DBD.
    The model P2P + Framerate locked + bad optmization just overload the processor.
    You can play the game in tutorial very very smootly cuz the map is very small and you don't rely on connections. That's another game, completely.
    Try to play with Wraith complete skin (Hallowed Blight). Maybe the first game will be ok, at the 5th you will want to throw your PS4 into trash LOL (PS4 pro tested).

Sign In or Register to comment.