Home Dead by Daylight Forums Discussions General Discussions

DbD has become increasingly hostile towards weaker rigs

CanasCanas Member Posts: 733
edited March 23 in General Discussions

Back when I started (early 2018) I still was able to play the game without any significant problems on my machine (16 GB RAM / 2 GB VRAM) but nowadays this has become pretty much impossible. The several visual updates (in particular to the various maps) have led to crazy performance issues on my end and no amount of setting modifications seem to be able to remedy this.

There needs to be a setting below "low", they might as well call it "potato" or "console" but as long as it exists I'll be satisfied. Currenlty I'm experiencing multiple freezes during a match which last up to 5 seconds (!) each. These can occcur during chases, kicking gens and pallets or by simply traversing the map. It makes the game borderline unplayable for me and that's without even considering the framerate. I'm glad if I can even keep a stable 30 fps with the graphics card I have.

Please tell me I'm not the only one who'd really like to see an optimization for lower end machines. My only alternative would be to get a brandnew pc because my mainboard can't support any newer graphics cards due it being a DDR3 device.

«1

Comments

  • MaTtRoSiTyMaTtRoSiTy Member Posts: 288

    I don't understand how your motherboard cant use a faster GPU "due it being a DDR3 device"? That doesn't make much sense but I do understand it does limit how much of an upgrade makes sense as you don't want to bottleneck a new GPU.

    If you are still running a GPU of any kind with 2GB of VRAM, it really is time to think about upgrading as it is only going to get worse from here. DBD isn't the most optimised game I will grant you that but you will find many games are going to give you problems with such a small amount of VRAM so you cant really blame DBD for that.

    Time to upgrade or you just have to live with it I am afraid

  • TiufalTiufal Member Posts: 932

    I dont know whats you problem. My mainboard is DDR3 and its like 5 years old, i have just 8GB RAM, my GPU is just a 1050ti and the game runs well on high setting at 55-60 fps. just some drops and freezes from time to time, buts thats most likely cause my CPU runs at 100% at those times, cause its old too. its fairly playable like 95% of the time.

  • MrPebblesMrPebbles Member Posts: 143

    Honestly, I think most of the reworks just made maps look worse lmao. Especially the mcmillan ones

  • MilMansonMilManson Member Posts: 653

    We still don't have V-sync or options to change individual resource hog settings like sun flare etc.

  • CanasCanas Member Posts: 733

    Well I can see what's going on, your graphics card has twice as much VRAM (4 GB instead of 2 GB), that makes a huge difference.

  • RenAmamiyaRenAmamiya Member Posts: 903

    I agree, but these two I mentioned are the worst offenders imo

  • MaTtRoSiTyMaTtRoSiTy Member Posts: 288

    I never once mentioned 2022 technology, I also said the game is not well optimised at all (I have a 5800x and 3080Ti and also get bad FPS drops on maps like RPD for example). However any graphics card with only 2GB of VRAM is very out of date and will struggle in many games, not just DBD. I can't think of a recent 2GB GPU so I assume it is something really old like a GTX 950 or something REALLY bad like a 1030.

    The OP can still upgrade their GPU with something from the used market and if they are still on a card with 2GB of VRAM then pretty much anything fairly recent will be an upgrade.

    FPS drops happen to all of us no matter how strong your PC is but you can at least get a fairly good experience with a newer card with more than 2GB VRAM as 2GB just doesn't cut it and hasn't really for years now.

  • CanasCanas Member Posts: 733

    To be fair, my 2 GB VRAM card (Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050) was able to play RE7 and the RE2+3 remakes with no issues. So I'm quite confused why a game from 2016 (DbD) is causing such issues, the game simply has to be extremely unoptimized.

    I'm currently looking into upgrade options but I'm not sure if they will work. I assume a DDR3 mainboard would still run with modern graphics cards (GDDR5/6) as long as the thing fits in there?

  • PlaysByShadyPlaysByShady Member Posts: 568

    I'm playing on an old machine (1080, 16Gb RAM) and it runs fine for me; better than it used to

  • MandyTalkMandyTalk Administrator, Co-ordinator, BHVR Posts: 18,722

    DbD is heavier on CPU rather than GPU - which is why having low/medium/high would not change anything for consoles with regards to framerates etc.

    Part of the problem is that the GPU's are getting older and might not be quite so reliable as they used to be, and yes they will definitely start to struggle with newer games if you wish to play on higher graphical settings. I'm still running a 1070Ti in my PC and so far I've not had any issues with any game, but it's only a matter of time.

  • XyvieliaXyvielia Member Posts: 1,814

    With each new patch/ chapter, everyone has to wait for the download / copying of files / instillation, etc.

    Just found it interesting to think of all the time we’ve spent in our lives, waiting for all of these updates; not just in DBD, but in any of the games we’ve played.

    Waiting can be tedious and unnerving, coupled with the fact that we as humans are all confined within time and it’s seemingly malicious frames... drains the soul a bit, imo😔

  • MaTtRoSiTyMaTtRoSiTy Member Posts: 288

    Yes but the RE games are not that demanding and you have to remember they are scripted so can be well optimised very easily. They were never very demanding and I remember playing RE7 on my GTX970 at 1440p (using DSR at the time) with no problems.

    You have to remember that DBD has had a graphical upgrade since it was released, as hardware has improved dramatically since 2016. The UE4 engine it runs on was never kind to weaker hardware but at some point the game needed to update its look (whether you like the aesthetic decisions or not) to keep up with next gen consoles etc.

    Yes of course you can upgrade your graphics card using older motherboard chipsets, the only thing to watch out for is that you aren't buying a GPU that is too powerful for your CPU, otherwise it is just wasted money. But even then it wont hurt, it just isn't good value.

  • Mr_KMr_K Member Posts: 7,504

    2G of VRAM? What GPU are we talking about here?

  • CanasCanas Member Posts: 733
    edited March 23

    I assume this CPU should be able to work with a 6 GB VRAM card? Or should I rather stick with a 4 GB VRAM one? I'll do some shopping tomorrow and I'd appreciate any recommendations.

    I currently have a Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 which came with my computer.

  • MandyTalkMandyTalk Administrator, Co-ordinator, BHVR Posts: 18,722

    That CPU will probably bottleneck with a higher GPU. It is level with the minimum required CPU to run the game and that's set to run at low - not guaranteed at 60fps (that's usually in-line for required specs).

    It might be better to look at changing the CPU before the GPU.

  • YatolYatol Member Posts: 1,403

    this is a common issue with live service games

  • mynameisBlademynameisBlade Member Posts: 325

    Rewrite that code. This is what we call settling for less.

  • RainehDazeRainehDaze Member Posts: 1,293

    Your CPU and your motherboard have almost no ability to restrict what GPU you put in, as long as the GPU is one made in like... the past 18 years? GPUs use PCI Express connections, the amount of VRAM and type of memory on the GPU don't matter to your CPU. All it knows is that the driver is telling it to send data here to make the pictures happen.

    You could put a 3090ti in there and it'd work. It would be bottlenecked horribly because your CPU can't keep up with the amount of frames the GPU is able to process, but it would work.

  • MaTtRoSiTyMaTtRoSiTy Member Posts: 288
    edited March 23

    The actual chip of the GPU is what matters more, most modern cards will come with at least 6GB of VRAM and the ones that only have 4 are best avoided imo, unless you really are on a budget. I would avoid the 10xx series cards now and look at a 2060 minimum, 2070 if you can afford it

    But there is no getting away from the fact your CPU is very weak, so ultimately you are going to really look at a new system. But for gaming your GPU is always the most important factor, though CPU can have more or less importance depending on the game (flight sims or games with complex telemetry etc will be more CPU heavy than basic RPG or FPS type games like Doom etc). DBD does like a decent CPU that is for sure but even with a fast 8 core it still stutters and performs badly at times...

    The 1050 was always an awful GPU in all honesty, so if you got by with it for all these years then you did well. Ideally it is time to upgrade but if you really can only do one thing I would say GPU first, as most games are harder on the GPU than CPU.

  • ThePoliceThePolice Member Posts: 746

    let’s be realistic here, dbd isn’t a 2016 game, you can’t say that graphically and technically the game is the exact same as in 2016

  • kizuatikizuati Member Posts: 280

    Mind sharing some of your magic with me? I am running a 3080 with a Ryzen 5900X and this game drops to 48 FPS every few seconds and getting a consistently good frame rate is impossible.

  • MandyTalkMandyTalk Administrator, Co-ordinator, BHVR Posts: 18,722

    I wish I had the tech knowledge to do that - my PC is weaker than yours (am also on Ryzen) but I genuinely never get fps drops. I've not unlocked my fps or anything and it's solid at 60 on Ultra.

  • TsukahTsukah Member Posts: 122
    edited March 24
  • SeanzuSeanzu Member Posts: 6,878

    Something I found out recently, if you have a "gaming" mouse that has a poll rating (the amount of times it communicates with your PC per second) if you have it too high it can severely tank the FPS, try finding that setting on your mouse if it's a gamery one.

    And don't get confused, I do NOT mean the DPI setting.

Sign In or Register to comment.